SUA-RD 2013

Schema di raccolta delle informazioni di competenza di ciascun Dipartimento Dipartimento di Economia

Struttura organizzativa del Dipartimento (quadro B.1)

The Department of Economics has 40 permanent faculty members (including 3 lecturers and 2 so-called "senior professors" – retired professors appointed for teaching in some courses). This is a good size for example by U.S. standards, comparable to the Department of Economics at MIT. There are, of course, larger departments of economics around the world, such as at Harvard and Princeton in the United States or the LSE in the UK. But there also exist much smaller departments, such as at Chicago in the United States or Tel Aviv in Israel. In other words, the size of the Department per se is sufficient for attaining reasonable balance in the coverage of the main research areas of economics.

Regarding the general governance of the DoE and with a special focus on research, the relevant rules are as follows. The governing bodies are the Head, the Council and the Executive Committee. The general aim of the ECO bodies is improving at the same time research and teaching, with the idea that our mission is to increase the high quality research production, but also its dissemination. Therefore our effort is to increase the quality growth in both research and teaching, as well as in the institutional service.

The Head of the Department coordinates the process of teaching programming in recommending academic staff to the Deans of the Schools for various courses, as well as in verifying teaching loads and teaching evaluations of the academic staff; coordinates the evaluation process for members of the Department with regard to both teaching and research according to the established criteria for teaching and research incentives; coordinates the evaluation process with regard to the processes of tenure and recruitment, monitoring that both research and teaching are evaluated; coordinates the seminar series; coordinates the visiting professor programmes; coordinates the relations with the three Research Centres

whose activities are more deeply intertwined with the research activities of the ECO members: Baffi Carefin Centre, IEFE and IGIER.

The Head manages the use of the discretionary research funding (DRF). In UB year by year the amount of the DRF depends on how many Department members are outside the general UB funding which is based on the publication outcomes. Fortunately in ECO the majority of the Faculty is able to obtain the UB funding: for example, based on the 2013 research outcomes, in 2014 nineteen ECO members - 54% of the Faculty, excluding the three lecturers and the two senior professors - were directly financed by UB. In allocating the DRF the Head tries to act as a lender of last resort, i.e. financing temporary and/or unexpected and/or limited research needs.

The Executive Committee (EC) is composed of the Director and of a minimum of 4 and a maximum of 8 members elected by the Council upon proposal from the Director. The Executive Committee supports the Director in the implementation of: the process of teaching programming; the evaluation process of the members of the Department with regard to teaching and research; the Department's research funds allocation; the Department's web site; the Assistant Professorship offers made to the job market candidates proposed by the Job Market Committee; the seminar series coordination; the visiting programme coordination.

At the moment, in order to increase the importance of being active also in the institutional service, the Director proposed and the Department Council nominated as EC members who already served in UB in institutional positions: Maristella Botticini (Course Director), Chiara Fumagalli (Course Director), Tommaso Monacelli (Mentoring Officer), Marco Ottaviani (UB Research Committee Member) and Nicola Pavoni (PhD Director).

The Department Council is essentially composed of members with the right to vote. Members with the right to vote are Full and Associate Professors, Researchers, Assistant Professors who have chosen the Department of Economics as their first affiliation. The Council decides by majority vote upon proposals to start recruitments procedures of Associate and Full Professors and upon tenure proposals of Assistant Professors. The Council annually establishes the guidelines for the international job market and appoints the members of the job market Committee, which plans and carries out the course of action. The Council annually discusses issues and activities carried out relating to research carried out by the faculty and within the Research Centres affiliated to the Department.

The Department of Economics has an intense research networking activity and it is fully integrated in the international community of economists. Many members of the Department of Economics are fellows of international research centres and networks including Nber, Cepr and Suerf, and participate in the editorial board of leading Journals.

Since many years the Department of Economics has organized four different series - Applied Microeconomics, Economic Theory, Macroeconomics, Labour, Development and Political Economics - that take place every week during the academic year. Department members and PhD students regularly attend these seminars. The seminar series is coordinated by the Seminar Series Committee (SSC), chaired by the Department Head. Series by series here the details:

ECO SEMINAR SERIES	YEAR 2011	YEAR 2012	YEAR 2013	YEAR 2014	Totals x Series 2011- 2014
APPLIED MICROECONOMICS	5	12	12 *	9 *	38
THEORY	15	6	10	9	40
DLPE (Development, Labor & Political Economy)	23	17	19	21	80
MACROECONOMICS	15	19	16	18	68
MACROLCONOMICS	13	17	10	10	00
TOTALS ECO SEMINARS per YEAR	58	54	57	57	226

The Department of Economics has also a rich program of visiting professors that teach in the undergraduate, graduate and PhD courses. The visiting programme is coordinated by the Executive Committee. Here the details:

2011: Three Visiting Professors: Giovanni Peri (University of California Davis), Alessandro Pio (Asian Development Bank) and Robert Simmons (UCLA) 2012: Four Visiting Professors: Alberto Alesina (Harvard University), Christopher Woodruff (Warwick University) Short, Alessandro Pio (Asian Development Bank) and Jan Van Ours (Tilburg University)

2013: Two Visiting Professors: Alberto Alesina (Harvard University) and Giorgio Primiceri (Northwestern University)